If I change scenes I think the player group is destroyed and then a new group spawned.
I'm still experimenting with approaches, but I want to disable auto spawning/persistent player. And destroy player before unloading a scene, and in next scene spawn player if I need to. (I have menu like scenes where I don't need the player.)
Is there a setting that controls this behavior? Or should I manually call destroy player group when preparing to unload the scene?